dcsimg

University of Leeds

Dr Felicity Astin PhD
Director of Research & Innovation
School of Healthcare
University of Leeds
Room 1.28, Baines Wing
Leeds LS2 9JT
Tel: +44(0) 113 343 7558
Email: f.astin@leeds.ac.uk

Sharon Lalley, Senior Secretary to Director of Research
Tel: 0113 343 1434
Email:  s.l.lalley@leeds.ac.uk
Website: http://www.healthcare.leeds.ac.uk/research/

 

Special areas of research interest

  1. Cardiovascular care
    Felicity Astin (F.Astin@leeds.ac.uk)
  2. Decision making
    Dawn Dowding (D.Dowding@leeds.ac.uk)
  3. Medicines management
    D Raynor (D.K.Raynor@leeds.ac.uk)
  4. Mental health
    Dawn Freshwater (D.S.Freshwater@adm.leeds.ac.uk)
  5. Pain management
    José Closs (S.J.Closs@leeds.ac.uk)
  6. Wound management
    Andrea Nelson (E.A.Nelson@leeds.ac.uk)
  7. Methodological development is a cross cutting program that intersects each of the topic based research programs
    A Long (A.F.Long@leeds.ac.uk)

 

PhD Supervision

Professor Dawn Dowding, Postgraduate Research tutor
Email: d.dowding@leeds.ac.uk

 

Postgraduate research training opportunities

Professional Doctorate in Health and Social Care

The Professional Doctorate has been developed to prepare "scholarly professionals" with an ability to use research to find solutions to problems in practice as well as generating new knowledge to inform and improve practice and policy. The aim of this programme is to develop an enhanced practitioner capable of leading the integration of research, theory and practice.

Contact: Professor Dawn Dowding, Postgraduate Research tutor
Email: d.dowding@leeds.ac.uk
Website: http://www.healthcare.leeds.ac.uk/study/professional-doctorate/professional-doctorate-health-and-social-care.htm

PgCert/PgDip/MSc in Health Research Skills

This course offers introductory research training to health professionals, research staff and research students.

Contact: Lesley Patchett, Postgraduate programmes in health research
Tel: 0113 343 2728
Email: l.a.patchett@leeds.ac.uk
Website: http://www.leeds.ac.uk/lihs/psychiatry/hr-skills/index.html

 

Patient and public involvement

Contact: Dr Elaine McNichol, Academic Lead for Service User and Carer involvement
Email: e.mcnichol@leeds.ac.uk