dcsimg

University of Leeds

Dr Nick Thyer
Director of Research and Innovation
School of Healthcare
University of Leeds
Baines Wing
Leeds LS2 9JT
Tel: +44 (0) 0113 3431238
Email:  n.j.thyer@leeds.ac.uk

Website: http://www.healthcare.leeds.ac.uk/research/

 

Special areas of research interest

  1. Decision making
    Dawn Dowding (D.Dowding@leeds.ac.uk)
  2. Medicines management
    D Raynor (D.K.Raynor@leeds.ac.uk)
  3. Mental health
    Dawn Freshwater (D.S.Freshwater@adm.leeds.ac.uk)
  4. Pain and cancer care
    José Closs (S.J.Closs@leeds.ac.uk)
  5. Wound management
    Andrea Nelson (E.A.Nelson@leeds.ac.uk)
  6. Methodological development is a cross cutting program that intersects each of the topic based research programs
    A Long (A.F.Long@leeds.ac.uk)  

 

PhD Supervision

Professor Dawn Dowding, Postgraduate Research tutor
Email: d.dowding@leeds.ac.uk

 

Postgraduate research training opportunities

MSc Clinical Research Methods

This programme can be studied on either a part time (2 years) or a full time (1 year) basis.  It is a starting point for nurses, midwives and allied health professionals who wish to pursue a career as a clinical academic combining research with clinical practice.

Contact: For an application form, contact Janet Ambler, email admissions@healthcare.leeds.ac.uk, or telephone: 44 (0) 113 343 1247. Further information is available from the Programme Leader, Janet Hirst, email j.hirst@leeds.ac.uk

Website:  http://medhealth.leeds.ac.uk/coursefinder/22513/MSc_Clinical_Research_Methods?from=&categoryID=


MSc Health Research

The MSc in Health Research is a part-time programme over 30 months that offers introductory research training to health professionals, research staff and research students

Contact:  For admissions queries, email lihs-admissions@leeds.ac.uk ; for queries about the programme, email the programme coordinator, healthresearchskills@leeds.ac.uk

Website:  http://medhealth.leeds.ac.uk/coursefinder/22539/MSc_Health_Research?from=600&categoryID=

 

PGCert Health Research

The PGCert in Health Research is a part-time programme over six months that offers introductory research training to health professionals, research staff and research students.

Contact: For admissions queries, email lihs-admissions@leeds.ac.uk ; for queries about the programme, email the programme coordinator on healthresearchskills@leeds.ac.uk

Website:  http://medhealth.leeds.ac.uk/coursefinder/22612/PGCert_Health_Research?from=600&categoryID=

PGDip Health Research

The PGDip in Health Research is a part-time programme over 18 months that offers introductory research training to health professionals, research staff and research students.

Contact: For admissions queries, email lihs-admissions@leeds.ac.uk ; for queries about the programme, email the programme coordinator on healthresearchskills@leeds.ac.uk .

Website:  http://medhealth.leeds.ac.uk/coursefinder/22637/PGDip_Health_Research?from=600&categoryID

 

Patient and public involvement


Contact: Dr Elaine McNichol, Director of CPD4 Health Innovation
Email: e.mcnichol@leeds.ac.uk