Your web browser is outdated and may be insecure

The RCN recommends using an updated browser such as Microsoft Edge or Google Chrome

Clinical governance: Professional Resources

You can use this page to familiarise yourself with key care quality strategies for each of the UK countries.

The resources on this page are arranged by region:


NHS England (2014) Five year forward view. This proposes the development of new healthcare models to suit local needs, including multispecialty community providers, and primary and acute care systems – involve integrating primary care and hospital care in a single provider organization. The document restates the need for removing wasteful practices and processes and emphasizes the role of digital technologies in contributing to redesigning a better health service. 

Care Quality Commission (2013) Raising standards, putting people first. Our strategy for 2013 to 2016. This describes the changes that the CQC is making to the way they inspect and regulate health and social care services. These changes will come into effect in NHS hospitals and mental health trusts first. The standards that relate most directly to the quality and safety of care are listed at: Regulations for service providers and managers. The CQC is now developing a new five-year strategy, which will be launched in April 2016.

National Institute for Health and Care Excellence. Quality standards. NICE quality standards are concise sets of prioritised statements designed to drive measurable quality improvements within a particular area of health or care. Quality standards cover a broad range of topics (healthcare, social care and public health) and are relevant to a variety of different audiences, which will vary across the topics.

Department of Health (2012) NHS Constitution for England. The NHS Constitution establishes the principles and values of the NHS in England. It sets out rights for patients, public and staff. It outlines NHS commitments to patients and staff, and the responsibilities that the public, patients and staff owe to one another to ensure that the NHS operates fairly and effectively.

Northern Ireland

Department of Health, Social Services and Public Safety (DHSSPS) (2011) Quality 2020: A 10 year strategy to protect and improve quality in health and social care in Northern Ireland. The aim of the Quality 2020 strategy is to establish a framework that will protect and improve quality within Northern Ireland's health and social care over the next 10 years. The strategy focuses on three key components: safety; effectiveness and patient and client focus. In delivering high quality health and social care this strategy also identifies the need to promote the following values: empowerment; involvement; respect; partnership; learning; community; continuity; equity and equality. 

DHSSPS (2011) Transforming your care. Transforming Your Care sets out an overarching road map for change in the provision of health and social care services in Northern Ireland. It focuses on reshaping how services are to be structured and delivered in order to make best use of all resources available, and in so doing, ensure that services are safe, resilient and sustainable into the future.

DHSSPS (2006) The Quality Standards for Health and Social Care. This document sets out the quality standards that the DHSSPS considers people should expect from Health and Personal Social Services (HPSS). They are used by the Regulation and Quality Improvement Authority (RQIA) to assess the quality of care provided by the HPSS in Northern Ireland.


Scottish Government (2010) The healthcare quality strategy for NHS Scotland. The Scottish Government's quality strategy is a development of 'Better Health, Better Care' (2007) which made a series of commitments to improve the health of everyone in Scotland and to improve the quality of health care and the health care experience. This quality strategy builds on these foundations and identifies three health care quality ambitions: to support the delivery of person-centred, safe and effective care to the people of Scotland. See also: Scottish Government: Quality strategy.

Scottish Government (2016) National Clinical Strategy for Scotland. The clinical strategy sets out the case for: planning and delivery of primary care services around individuals and their communities; planning hospital networks at a national, regional, or local level based on a population paradigm; providing high value, proportionate, effective and sustainable healthcare; transformational change supported by investment in e-health and technological advances.

Scottish Government (2018) Scotland's Digital Health and Care Strategy: enabling, connecting and empowering. Scotland's Digital Health and Care Strategy shows how they will use technology to reshape and improve services, support person-centred care, and improve outcomes.


Welsh Government (2012) Achieving excellence. The quality delivery plan for the NHS in Wales. The plan details how quality assurance and improvement arrangements will operate and details ambitions for achieving excellence in Welsh healthcare by 2016. The aim is to provide services that are: safe; effective; accessible; affordable; and sustainable – reducing harm, variation and waste. 

Welsh Government (2011) Together for health. This document presented the vision for the next five years in the context of the current challenges facing the health service and the factors driving the need for reform. It pictures what the NHS in Wales will look like in 2016 and sets out the actions and commitments to achieve a sustainable and ‘world-class’ service. See also: Working differently – working together. This document supports Together For Health, and focuses on the vital role that all staff play in delivering safe and effective care for the people of Wales.

Welsh Government (2010) Doing well, doing better. Standards for health services in Wales. This sets out a common framework of standards to support the NHS and partner organisations in providing effective, timely and quality services across all healthcare settings. The revised standards came into force the 1 April 2010. The updated framework of standards set out the requirements of what is expected of all health services in all settings.

Page last updated - 17/11/2020