Integrated care in England: East Midlands


The East Midlands currently has one agreed devolution deal covering Greater Lincolnshire and the area's ten local authorities. The Greater Lincolnshire devolution agreement states that the partners will use their local sustainability and transformation plans to set out their vision for how health and social care services will be integrated.

Sustainability and transformation plans (STPs)

The East Midlands has five STPs covering the recognised sub-regional areas of:

The plans cover the period 2016 to 2021 and set out how each area is intending to reform health and social care services to meet future demands and overcome a funding shortfall of £22bn across the NHS in England over the corresponding period. The RCN is concerned that without extra funding to ensure there is sufficient provision to realise 'the right care in the right place at the right time' aspiration of the plans, there is a risk they will not deliver their intended outcomes for patients and service users.

Vanguard sites

The East Midlands has nine vanguard sites piloting new models of care in different areas and health care settings. Click on the links for information about each one.

Integrated primary and acute care systems - joining up GP, hospital, community and mental health services

Multispecialty community providers - moving specialist care out of hospitals into the community

Enhanced health in care homes - offering older people better, joined-up health, care and rehabilitation services

Urgent and emergency care - new approaches to improve the coordination of services and reduce pressure on A&E departments

Acute care collaboration

Networks and Forums

Find out more about Networks and Forums in the Royal College of Nursing.

Page last updated - 18/10/2019