arrow_up-blue blog branches consultations events facebook-icon facebook-icon2 factsheet forum-icon forum hands key link location lock mail measure menu_plus news pdf pdf2 phone policies publications related search share subjectguide twitter-icon word youtube-icon

Professional Nursing Committee

The committee responsible for RCN’s professional work

The RCN’s Professional Nursing Committee fulfils a vital role in helping the RCN to achieve its purpose as a royal college. The committee is the decision-making body of the RCN on professional issues and provides leadership on the work of the RCN in this area. It is accountable to RCN Council.


The Professional Nursing Committee has 14 members: one member each from Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland, and one from each of the nine English regions: East Midlands, Eastern, London, North West, Northern, South East, South West,  West Midlands, Yorkshire and the Humber. They are elected by members in their country or region.


The remaining two members are from the Student and Health Practitioner (Health Care Assistant and Assistant Practitioner) membership categories and are elected by the members of those groups.

Claire McGuigan

Member for Northern Ireland
January 2018 - December 2019

Theresa Connor

Member for Scotland
January 2018 - December 2021

Denise Llewellyn

Member for Wales
January 2018 - December 2021

Jacky Price

Member for Eastern region
January 2018 - December 2019

Simon Browse

Member for East Midlands region
January 2018 - December 2019

Mary Wells

Member for London region
January 2018 - December 2019

Melanie Johnson

Member for Northern region
January 2018 - December 2019

Sally Young

Member for North West region
January 2018 - December 2019

Ian Setchfield

Member for South East region
January 2018 - December 2021

Dawn Cooper

Member for South West region
January 2018 - December 2021

Julie Green

Member for West Midlands region
January 2018 - December 2021

Rachel Hollis

Member for Yorkshire and the Humber
January 2018 - December 2021

Tracie Culpitt

Health Practitioner member
January 2018 - December 2021

Lucy Mason

Student member
January 2018 - December 2019