arrow_up-blue blog branches consultations events facebook-icon facebook-icon2 factsheet forum-icon forum hands key link location lock mail measure menu_plus news pdf pdf2 phone policies publications related search share subjectguide twitter-icon word youtube-icon

Trade Union Committee

The Committee responsible for the RCN’s trade union function

The Trade Union Committee works to ensure that the RCN develops as a modern progressive trade union making a positive difference to the working lives of nursing staff. The committee is accountable to RCN Council and makes decisions on its behalf on all the RCN’s trade union functions and activities.


The Trade Union Committee has 14 members: one member each from Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland, and one from each of the nine English regions: East Midlands, Eastern, London, North West, Northern, South East, South West,  West Midlands, Yorkshire and the Humber. They are elected by members in their country or region.


The remaining two members are from the Student and Health Practitioner (Health Care Assistants and Assistant Practitioner) membership categories and are elected by the members of those groups.

Fiona Devlin

Member for Northern Ireland
January 2018 - December 2021

Diane Coleman Trade Union Committee

Diane Coleman

Member for Scotland
January 2018 - December 2019

Gaynor Jones Trade Union Committee

Gaynor Jones

Member for Wales
January 2018 - December 2019
Carol Evans Trade Union Committee

Carol Evans

Member for Eastern
January 2018 - December 2021 
Neil Thompson Trade Union Committee

Neil Thompson

Member for East Midlands
January 2018 - December 2021 
Karen Sanders Trade Union Committee

Karen Sanders

Member for London 
January 2018 - December 2021 
Image Pending

Michael Appleby

Member for Northern
January 2018 - December 2021 
Image Pending

Mike Travis

Member for North West
January 2018 - December 2021
Liz Jeremiah Trade Union Committee

Liz Jeremiah

Member for South East
January 2018 - December 2019
Lorrae Allford Trade Union Committee

Lorrae Allford

Member for South West
January 2018 - December 2019
Tracey Budding Trade Union Committee

Tracey Budding

Member for West Midlands
January 2018 - December 2019
Andrew Bassett Scott Toogood

Andrew Bassett-Scott Toogood

Member for Yorkshire and the Humber
January 2018 - December 2019 
Karen Pike Trade Union Committee

Karen Pike

Health Practitioner Member
January 2018 - December 2021 
Katharine Youngs Trade Union Committee

Katharine Youngs

Student Member
January 2018 - December 2019