arrow_up-blue blog branches consultations events facebook-icon facebook-icon2 factsheet forum-icon forum hands key link location lock mail measure menu_plus news pdf pdf2 phone policies publications related search share subjectguide twitter-icon word youtube-icon
RCN Eastern Region

Integrated care in England: Eastern region


An East Anglia devolution deal was published in March 2016. Since then two deals within the region have been proposed – Norfolk/Suffolk and Cambridgeshire/Peterborough.

The proposed Norfolk/Suffolk deal has been endorsed by all councils in Suffolk and some in Norfolk. Other Norfolk councils have decided not to press on with a combined authority at this stage. All the Cambridgeshire and Peterborough councils have agreed their proposed deal. Details are awaited on the extent to which devolution will cover health and social care.

Elsewhere in the Eastern region discussions continue about potential devolution proposals and what shape, if any, deals in Essex, Bedfordshire and Hertfordshire will take.

More information about devolution in East Anglia is available here:

Sustainability and transformation plans (STPs)

The Eastern region has six STPs covering the recognised sub-regional areas of:

View a list of all STPs on the NHS England website.

Read about the RCN's view on STPs.

Vanguard sites

The Eastern region has two vanguard sites piloting new models of care in different areas and health care settings.

Click on the links for information about each one.

Urgent and emergency care – new approaches to improve the coordination of services and reduce pressure on A&E departments.

Enhanced health in care homes – offering older people better, joined up health, care and rehabilitation services.

Integrated care in England

Find out more about the three ways integrated health and social care is set to be delivered in England and what it all means for you.