arrow_up-blue blog branches consultations events facebook-icon facebook-icon2 factsheet forum-icon forum hands key link location lock mail measure menu_plus news pdf pdf2 phone policies publications related search share subjectguide twitter-icon word youtube-icon
RCN South East Region

Integrated care in England: South East region


The 3SC (East and West Sussex and Surrey) are not involving health / social care at this stage but taking advantage of the Government’s commitment to devolving powers and resources to a local level, allowing Authorities to make collective decisions about key services affecting the whole area.

Further plans for the region are still at discussion stage with the local authorities at present.

Sustainability and transformation plans (STPs)

The South East region has six STPs:

  • Buckinghamshire, Oxfordshire and Berkshire West
  • Hampshire and the Isle of Wight
  • Frimley Health
  • Surrey Heartlands
  • Sussex and East Surrey
  • Kent and Medway

View a list of all STPs on the NHS England website.

Vanguard sites

The South East has five vanguard sites piloting new models of care in different areas and health care settings. Click on the links for information about each one.

Integrated primary and acute care systems – joining up GP, hospital, community and mental health services

Multispecialty community providers – moving specialist care out of hospitals into the community

Enhanced health in care homes – offering older people better, joined up health, care and rehabilitation services

  • None in the South East

Urgent and emergency care – new approaches to improve the coordination of services and reduce pressure on A&E departments

  • None in the South East

Acute care collaboration vanguard sites

Integrated care in England

Find out more about the three ways integrated health and social care is set to be delivered in England and what it all means for you.