arrow_up-blue blog branches consultations events facebook-icon facebook-icon2 factsheet forum-icon forum hands key link location lock mail measure menu_plus news pdf pdf2 phone policies publications related search share subjectguide twitter-icon word youtube-icon
RCN West Midlands Region

Integrated care in England: West Midlands


The West Midlands has an agreed devolution deal covering Greater Birmingham, the Black Country and Coventry but the devolution agreement does not include health and social care functions.

Sustainability and transformation plans (STPs)

The West Midlands has six STPs covering the recognised sub-regional areas of:

  • Birmingham and Solihull
  • Black Country
  • Coventry and Warwickshire
  • Herefordshire and Worcestershire
  • Shropshire and Telford & Wrekin
  • Staffordshire

View a list of all STPs on the NHS England website.

Vanguard sites

The West Midlands has five vanguard sites piloting new models of care in different areas and health care settings. Click on the links for information about each one.

Multispecialty community providers - moving specialist care out of hospitals into the community

Urgent and emergency care - new approaches to improve the coordination of services and reduce pressure on A&E departments

Acute care collaboration

  • National Orthopaedic Alliance (includes the Royal Orthopaedic Hospital, Birmingham and Robert Jones and Agnes Hunt Orthopaedic Hospital, Oswestry)
  • MERIT (Mental Health Alliance for Excellence, Resilience, Innovation and Training - West Midlands)

Integrated care in England

Find out more about the three ways integrated health and social care is set to be delivered in England and what it all means for you.