arrow_up-blue blog branches consultations events facebook-icon facebook-icon2 factsheet forum-icon forum hands key link location lock mail measure menu_plus news pdf pdf2 phone policies publications related search share subjectguide twitter-icon word instagram-icon youtube-icon

New committee elected

6 Oct 2017

The results have been announced from the elections for the RCN Trade Union Committee.

New committees logo

The committee will work to ensure the RCN develops as a modern progressive trade union making a positive difference to the working lives of nursing staff.

The following members have been elected:

  • Carol Evans (Eastern region)
  • Neil Thompson (East Midlands)
  • Karen Sanders (London)
  • Michael Appleby (Northern)
  • Fiona Devlin (Northern Ireland)*
  • Mike Travis (North West)*
  • Diane Coleman (Scotland)
  • Liz Jeremiah (South East)
  • Lorrae Allford (South West)*
  • Gaynor Jones (Wales)*
  • Tracey Budding (West Midlands)
  • Andrew Bassett-Scott Toogood (Yorkshire & the Humber)*
  • Karen Pike (health practitioner member)
  • Katharine Youngs (student member).

Newly elected member for the Yorkshire & the Humber region, Andy Bassett-Scott Toogood, said: "When I found out I had been elected I was over the moon. It will be an honour to represent my region. I feel that as a new committee we have such a lot to offer our members as now is such a challenging time for nursing and more than ever we need to be a ‘union’.”

Elections for the RCN Professional Nursing Committee, which will fulfil a vital role in helping the RCN to achieve its purpose as a royal college, will open on Monday.

*Elected unopposed.

Page last updated - 15/06/2018