RCN Council election results are revealed

1 Oct 2019

Find out who’s been elected to represent you on the RCN’s governing Council.

A group of hands stretched up in the air

Thirteen members are set to take up seats on the RCN’s governing Council in January.

Members have been voted into RCN Council seats representing UK constituencies and nursing support worker members. The full list of RCN Council members elected is:

Eastern: Janice Waters (unopposed)
East Midlands: Deirdre Sissons (unopposed)
London: Dr Joan Myers
North West: Dave Dawes (unopposed)
Northern: Dr Annessa Rebair
Northern Ireland: Fiona Devlin
Nursing Support Worker: Evan Keir (unopposed)
Scotland: Geoff Earl
South East: Jeremy Benton
South West: Geoffrey Walker (unopposed)
Wales: Richard Jones
West Midlands: Professor Rod Thomson FRCN
Yorkshire & the Humber: Catherine Best

Members have been elected for four years with their term of office from 1 January 2020 until 31 December 2023.

The RCN President, Deputy President, Chair of RCN Congress and Student Member of Council also serve on the RCN's governing body but these positions were not up for election in 2019.

RCN Council provides strategic leadership and direction for the College. It’s Chair, Vice Chair and Honorary Treasurer will be elected from within Council before the new year.

Outgoing Chair of Council Sue Warner said: “Serving on RCN Council is a huge privilege - working on behalf of our members, and the wider nursing profession. 

“I would like to thank the outgoing members of Council for their dedicated service and for steering the College through some challenging issues. I also want to pay tribute to all the candidates in the election, some of whom will be understandably disappointed today. 

“I extend a warm welcome to the new members of Council who will pick up the baton and take us through the next few years - you will be the guardians of our profession and I urge you to take that responsibility seriously.”

RCN Chief Executive & General Secretary Dame Donna Kinnair said: “I congratulate our new members of Council and thank every candidate for the ideas and passion they demonstrated during the campaign. 

“This four-year Council will bring further stability to our College. Council members will lead the organisation as we take our professional and trade union agenda forward.  We are proudly led by our members and the RCN is fortunate to have individuals of this calibre stepping forward for Council. 

“Members who have given loyal service on Council have my personal gratitude as their terms come to an end.”

Page last updated - 15/03/2020