Integrated care in England: West Midlands


The West Midlands has an agreed devolution deal covering Greater Birmingham, the Black Country and Coventry but the devolution agreement does not include health and social care functions.

Sustainability and transformation plans (STPs)

The West Midlands has six STPs covering the recognised sub-regional areas of:

The plans cover the period 2016 to 2021 and set out how each area is intending to reform health and social care services to meet future demands and overcome a funding shortfall of £22bn across the NHS in England over the corresponding period. The RCN is concerned that without extra funding to ensure there is sufficient provision to realise 'the right care in the right place at the right time' aspiration of the plans, there is a risk they will not deliver their intended outcomes for patients and service users.

Vanguard sites

Multispecialty community providers - moving specialist care out of hospitals into the community

Urgent and emergency care - new approaches to improve the coordination of services and reduce pressure on A&E departments

Acute care collaboration

  • National Orthopaedic Alliance (includes the Royal Orthopaedic Hospital, Birmingham and Robert Jones and Agnes Hunt Orthopaedic Hospital, Oswestry)
  • MERIT (Mental Health Alliance for Excellence, Resilience, Innovation and Training - West Midlands)

Networks and Forums

Find out more about Networks and Forums in the Royal College of Nursing.

RCN West Midlands Blogs

Find the latest blogs about nursing, health care, STPs and the work of the RCN in the West Midlands.

Page last updated - 18/10/2019